You can now use VMware Cloud on AWS as a PCI compliant platform to run your PCI regulated workloads. PCI Regions available today are US East (N. Virginia), US West (Oregon), Europe (Dublin), Europe (London), Europe (Frankfurt) and Asia Pacific (Sydney). 

VMware Cloud on AWS supports a large number of customer use cases and compliance requirements.  You can view all the compliance and certifications programs at the VMware Cloud Trust Centre.

VMware Cloud on AWS now offers a PCI DSS compliant service that simplifies the tasks to achieve and maintain PCI DSS compliance. If you are a merchant of any size accepting credit cards, you must be in compliance with PCI Security Council standards.

VMware Cloud on AWS achieved Certified PCI DSS 3.2.1 Level 1 Service Provider status, confirmed by Attestation of Compliance (AoC) available for download here.

How do you make your VMC on AWS Software Defined Data Center (SDDC) PCI Compliant?

It is very easy, there are 6 key steps.

  1. Submit PCI DSS Request to enable your organization to have PCI DSS compliant SDDC’s.  Please review this list for supported AWS Regions.
  1. Once your organization has been PCI enabled, deploy a new VMware Cloud on AWS SDDC
  1. Configure networking and security polices within your VMC SDDC
  1. Use VMware HCX to migrate your workloads and extend your networks.
  1. Harden your VMC SDDC for PCI DSS

Because certain VMC SDDC features and add-on services do not comply with the PCI DSS, you must disable them before you complete your PCI DSS audit. There are two features that must be disabled, click the below links to see how you can easily disable these services.

Disable Networking & Security Tab Access
Disable Add-On Services

  1. Once the above 5 steps are done, you can then focus on getting your workloads ready for the PCI DSS Audit.

Handy Links:

Migrating PCI Workloads to VMware Cloud on AWS Whitepaper

Demo Deploying PCI DSS Compliant SDDC on VMware Cloud on AWS

Prepare an SDDC for PCI DSS Workloads